Rainbows

My amazingly thoughtful sister gifted me this beautiful diary upon her return from New York last week, and so I plan to put it to great use.

The words engraved on its cover are illuminating: “the soul would have no rainbow if the eyes had no tears”. How wise and truthful is that!

Indeed, sometimes, to see  the good in life or people, we need to see the bad. Sometimes, to define or redefine happiness, we need to once experience melancholy, absorb it, accept it, and then gradually rise up and start seeing and appreciating the goodness in us, the goodness in others, and most importantly, the goodness in the world that contains us.

I genuinely believe that we are happy by choice, and so today, I have chosen to be happy for Lamis (my sister), and for the beautiful words she’s gifted me. My wish for her is to always remain the inside out lovable and sensible person that she is. May love and happiness surround her always. I know my heart is happy because I have her!

About monakaraoui

Editor by day, journal blogger by night.. View all posts by monakaraoui

4 responses to “Rainbows

  • Cynthia

    I love it and it’s very true! I wish you happiness, always! xoxo

  • DayDream

    I couldn`t agree with you more…Life is like a rainbow, you need both the sun and the rain to make its colours….and without the rain, we wouldn`t appreciate the sunshine….and Indeed we are in charge of our happiness…..Happiness is like a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, alight upon you….Being happy and chosing to be happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect, It means that you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections…

    Love you blog sister….keep it coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

